A place For Field Sport Enthusiasts To Meet And Discuss All Things Hunting.

HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

dog intellegence

Go down 
AuthorMessage
champboxer

Number of posts : 36
Registration date : 2008-11-29

PostSubject: dog intellegence   Wed Dec 03, 2008 4:33 am

like many of people i have trained plenty of dogs, made mistakes what you learn from and been educated by the dogs themselves , i ve found no two dogs ever accept the exact text book training that books lead you to believe that "thier way is the correct and only way".
being mainly a running dog man that when i started training my springer i obviously started work on the dog in my usual way, heal, sit , come ,stay ect but then came the fetch, he took to it fine apart from dropping the dummy after the fetch, just a big game to him and wouldnt drop for love nor money, but and a big but , to my surprise on his first retrieval of a pheasant ,it was put at my feet not a mark on the bird, so getting to the point, he knows whats work and whats playing, with george being my first spaniel i was really impressed with this trait, is it a common thing?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shazam

Number of posts : 30
Registration date : 2008-11-26

PostSubject: Re: dog intellegence   Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:05 pm

Have you tried him with a raw egg lol what I mean though is ,place a raw egg in its shell on the grass and get him to pick it up . You have probably tried this with him ,I dont know ? Bloody good thread ,by the way cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
champboxer

Number of posts : 36
Registration date : 2008-11-29

PostSubject: Re: dog intellegence   Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:13 pm